About Me

My photo
Just a girl and her dog. LCU. Wife. Daughter. Sister. Friend. Christian. Artist. Photographer.

Friday, January 31, 2014

Getting a puppy is GREAT birth control.

Yes, the title is a bit weird. But the past two weeks that I have had Gus (my 8 week old Corgi puppy), I have learned a lot about being a "mom" (or, Corgmom, is what the Corgi Community calls it).

Example #1: Getting up at 3:00AM because he peed in his crate on his blanket and on himself. Well, that means giving him a bath (which he hates) at 3:00AM, taking out all his toys and making sure they aren't soiled, replacing the blanket, taking him outside to finish his business, and putting him back to bed even though he thinks it's playtime.

Example #2: Constantly watching him to make sure he doesn't use the bathroom inside. I HAVE A LIFE! And he doesn't listen to me, he just stands there and tries to pee all of it out before I can get to him (he seriously is very stubborn and aunry).

Example #3: Going back to example #2, I also have to watch and make sure he doesn't get into anything he isn't supposed to. Such as electrical cords, trash, shoes, laundry, basically anything he can chew.

Example #4: Going back to nighttime. To be honest, Gus has been really good at night ever since we got him. He *usually* sleeps until 5AM, then my mom comes and gets him when she wakes up. But the past couple nights, he decided that he doesn't want to do that. He wants to PLAY. No. No, no, no, no, NO. Not in the middle of the night. So lately I've been very paranoid that he's going to wake up and want to play. Which makes it hard to actually fall asleep because I'm constantly worried.

I LOVE Gus with all my heart. And I'm sure I will want kids eventually, after I've been married a couple years. But for now, I'll stick to having a puppy. He's stressful enough. Loveable, but stressful. :) I definitely am not ready to have kids ANYtime soon. Haha!

P.S. By the way, for those of you with puppies, there is an album on iTunes called "Puppy Music - Peaceful Songs for Dogs". And it just has like piano-esque, instrumental songs that are supposed to relax your puppy to go to sleep. So far, it actually has been effective! I guess relaxing music helps soothe puppies' brains? (I mean, it definitely relaxes me!)


Hope this could give you a laugh. Maybe even just a chuckle. :)

Peace & Love,
Jenae


Monday, January 13, 2014

I'm only like 13 days late on this post...

Wow, I sure did wait awhile to actually start this year's blog..haha! The past few weeks have been interesting and busy, not to mention the fact that my computer is in the computer hospital so that makes it hard to blog. My computer still isn't fixed (waiting on some parts) so I settled for just using my iPhone (That's what it's for right? To do exactly what computers can do, just in a smaller, app-filled setting?). 

So if you haven't noticed by now, I'm obviously not in Lubbock. Nor am I at ACU. I'm currently just at home! Am I happy about it? Not really. But it was the best thing to do. The month of November and half of December was an ER filled, long nights crying, tired the next day kind of month and a half. We had talked about me waiting until the fall of 2014 to go to Lubbock, but it wasn't what I wanted to do. But I also couldn't go and risk the possibility of having to go to the ER there (without my parents? Who would translate my sobs into words for me?). So when the weekend before finals came around, and I was admitted to the hospital for a couple days, I knew what my choice had to be. I was no where near ready for my finals, so I decided it would be best to take an Incomplete for the semester. I didn't want to have to do that, because I really wanted to see all of my professors one last time! (Also that would have been the second time to take an Incomplete after my fall semester). But I took the Incomplete, and surprisingly I knocked out three of my four finals that week. Two of them my professors gave me the option of just taking my current grade in the class and have that as my final grade. So of course I said yes! Less stress for me!! The other I was able to do at home and have my mom take it up there (made an OK grade on that one). I still have yet to take my last one, but I have awhile to do it. 

So what in the world am I going to do with my upcoming amount of time I'll have? So glad you asked! I am .... 

Alright, so I don't have any concrete plans yet. But I know of a few things that I'm currently striving towards! 

The first is the Baylor Pain Management Center (I don't know if that's the actual title, but that's what it is!). It's in the Fort Worth area and it's an out-patient facility. They focus on helping people with conditions like mine rebuild their life with physical therapy, exercise, nutrition, and different types of counseling. So basically they help you physically and mentally get back on your feet so you can live your life again! It sounds really interesting and like it could be really beneficial, but we still have awhile before we can know if I'm going to do it (insurance takes forever...). The only disadvantage is that it's going to be a lot of driving. Not too much, I mean it's only a 2 days a week program, but there would be a good amount of driving going on. But I think we would go see Josh and Whitney while we're there so that's definitely a win!

The second is one I'm still working on. I opened my own Etsy shop a little while ago, but I haven't been able to actually make any of the products. Now that I've been feeling better, I'll be able to completely dive in to making and creating my products! For example, I bought some blank journals and I'm going to modge podge the covers with different scrapbook paper! I've made four already in the past year or so for myself, and I thought it would be fun to make some to sell! I'm also going to design and make greeting cards, like thank you cards, get well cards, thinking of you cards, etc. Those will be the main items, but I'd love to try and sell some canvas work. Once I get the shop running I'll be sure to post the link. :) 

So I started this post Monday night, and didn't finish. And the third was something that I was striving towards, but last night things changed and now it's concrete. I'm getting a puppy!!!!!!! And not just any puppy, THE puppy. The one I've been dying to get since high school. A Corgi! He's six weeks old and the cutest thing ever. We are going on Saturday to pick him up, and it seriously couldn't come fast enough! Ever since I convinced my parents to let me get my own dog, I've been thinking of a name. I always wanted to have two Corgis, and name them Shawn and Gus (from Psych, I'm obsessed). But then I kept thinking of other names, and eventually I got it down to fifteen. But when they sent me a picture of him I immediately knew he was Gus. I don't know if I'm completely ready for the puppy whines at night, but hey, I already don't sleep well, so now I'll just have company! ;) 

I'm also redoing my room! Grey and yellow with splashes of teal and red. I already have a lot of the decor, but I'm still looking for a bedspread. I think it's going to turn out really pretty!

So while I'll (hopefully) be doing all those things, I also will start working in March when Cajun Cones opens. I plan on trying to work as much as I can! It's the best job ever. :) 

And in between all that I hope to start getting back into shape, hanging out with friends again, and just spending some alone time with God. I also plan on staying AWAY from hospitals. In fact, on the 20th it'll have been a MONTH since my last ER visit. It's getting easier to deal with the pain episodes. 

Sorry this post was extremely long! I never realize how long my posts can be until I'm at the end. If you're still reading, thank you. :) And please bookmark or copy this link to read my future posts! And share with friends! I'm hoping with my future posts to use my words to encourage those who need it, and let those who are suffering know they are not alone. 

Thanks again for reading. God bless!

Peace & love,
Jenae